IET: 2012 Young Woman Engineer of the Year Finalists Announced

The Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET) today announces the finalists for the 2012 Young Woman Engineer of the Year Awards, celebrating dynamic young women representing the very best in engineering and technology.

The IET Young Woman Engineer of the Year Awards are made up of three prestigious prizes that honour outstanding female engineers under the age of 30 working in the UK.

The Young Woman Engineer of the Year Awards recognise the achievements of fresh new female talent in engineering and aims to encourage and inspire others to enter the profession.

Ranging from 18-28 years old and occupying a great mix of roles from a structural engineer who worked on The Shard to a Real Time FRACAS (Failure Review and Corrective Action System) analyst for Euro Fighter Typhoon Aircrafts, the IET’s Selection Panel has chosen five professional engineers and apprentices based on their achievements to date and commitment to the advancement of women and technology.

The 2012 finalists are:

·         Roma Agrawal (WSP Group)

·         Yewande Akinola (ARUP)

·         Jessica Jones (LGS Ltd)

·         Philippa Riddoch (BAE Systems)

·         Charlotte Tingley (BAE Systems)

The winners will be presented with their cash prize and awards at an exclusive ceremony on 6 December at IET London: Savoy Place. The ceremony will be hosted by TV presenter and talented ex-gymnast Gabby Logan.

Logan comments: “I’m honoured and really excited to be asked to present this year’s event. I fully support efforts that encourage young women to take jobs in traditionally male-dominated industries, such as engineering and technology, and to show them support early in their careers.”

The ceremony is free to attend and guests can register their attendance here.

The headline sponsors for YWE 2012 include: BP, EADS, GCHQ, Intel, National Grid, Ofcom, The Royal Air Force, RS Components, Selex Galileo, Siemens, Transport for London and Virgin Media.