Ian Mearns


Ian Mearns was elected as Labour MP for Gateshead on May 7th 2015 with 21549 votes, taking 56.8% of the vote.

Born in Newcastle in April 1957, Ian was educated at St Mary’s RC Primary School, Forest Hall and St Mary’s RC Technical School in Newcastle, before starting work with Northern Gas in 1974.

Ian was Chair of the Campaign for a North East Assembly and was a member of the North East Constitutional Convention Steering Group.

Formerly member of the North East Assembly, Ian Chaired the Scrutiny and Policy Development Board of NEA for almost 3 years.

He was Chair of Governors of 2 Gateshead Schools, Thomas Hepburn Community Comprehensive in Felling (19 years) and Kelvin Grove Primary in Central Gateshead (2 years).

He was for about ten years Chair of Governors of Joicey Road Special School for children with moderate learning difficulties. He was awarded a distinction as runner up in the National DFES Teaching awards “Governor of the Year” category for the North East and Cumbria 2007.

Constituency: Gateshead

Constituency Address: 12 Regent Terrace, Gateshead, NE8 1LU

Constituency Tel: 0191-477 0651

Date of Birth: 04/1957

Email: ian.mearns.mp@parliament.uk; ianmearnsmp@gmail.com

Party: Labour

Personal Website: www.ianmearns.org.uk

Westminster Address: House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA

Westminster Tel: 020 7219 7074

Twitter: twitter.com/IanMearnsMP

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ian-Mearns/144153992264921?fref=ts

Facebook Personal: https://www.facebook.com/ian.mearns.3