Members of the House of Lords are called peers. About 687 people have the right to sit in the House of Lords but the they do not all derive their right to sit from the same place. Members of the Lords fall into the following categories – life peers, remaining hereditary peers, law lords (collectively the Lords Temporal) and bishops (the Lords Spiritual).