Community Action Awards 2014-16: Tackling fuel poverty together in local communities

Apply for phase 1 before 3 October 2014

Are you involved in an exciting, innovative project to tackle fuel poverty in your local community?

The Community Action Awards will recognise best practice amongst those who are working to tackle fuel poverty and improve energy efficiency in their local communities. Supported by the Department of Energy and Climate Change and British Gas, the scheme will run from 2014-16 with a total of 25 awards made to community groups, third sector organisations, health agencies, local authorities and other public and not-for-profit organisations in England and Wales that demonstrate innovative approaches to tackling fuel poverty.

Winners will receive £1,500 to develop or enhance their project; a free place at the NEA Annual Conference; and practical and financial support to hold a community celebration event.

The published deadlines are:

Phase 1 –  10 October 2014
Phase 2 –  7 January 2015
Phase 3 –  17 April 2015
Phase 4 – 2 October 2015
Phase 5 – 8 January 2016

For further informatin and to apply go to or contact Nina Dunlavy on 0191 269 2935