Most Innovative Companies in Engineering & Technology of 2012 Revealed

9 October 2012, London: The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has today announced the shortlisted entries for its 2012 Innovation Awards, celebrating the most innovative organisations operating within a wide variety of science, engineering and technology disciplines. TV presenter, Clare Balding will announce the winners at a gala dinner on 22 November.

Spanning 15 categories including a special category on Sports Technology, introduced specifically for the Olympic year, the 2012 IET Innovation Awards attracted entries from all over the world including China and Canada, demonstrating the innovation and imagination of engineers worldwide as they tackle their own local, economic and social challenges. 70 entries have been shortlisted from a diverse range of organisations from Thames Water and Qualcomm to the University of Sheffield.

The awards, now in their eighth year, are judged by a panel of more than 80 engineering experts, recognising the depth and breadth of innovative work being carried out across all areas of engineering and technology, at all stages of development.  The 2012 Innovation Awards are sponsored by ABB, Accenture, Altran, D Young & Co, Lloyd’s Register, Mathworks, National Grid and National Physical Laboratory.

“Engineering continues to innovate and introduce new ideas that contribute to, and improve, our daily lives,” says Tim Hamer, Director of Knowledge at the IET.  “The shortlisted entries in this year’s Innovation Awards highlight the way in which the engineering and technology industries strive for improvements in areas of software, design and technology. These companies are helping to ensure engineering flourishes as a profession.”

The black tie gala Awards Ceremony will take place at The Brewery, London, on 22 November 2012 and tickets for the Awards Ceremony are available on the IET Innovation Awards website. Shortlisted entries for the Software in Design category will be announced the week commencing Monday, 15 October.